The University of Mississippi
The Alliance of Graduate Education in Mississippi

About AGEM

The Alliance for Graduate Education in Mississippi (AGEM) comprises the state's four PhD-granting institutions — The University of Mississippi (as the administrative lead), Jackson State University, Mississippi State University, and the University of Southern Mississippi — in partnership with the several state and regional Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCS's) and smaller colleges. AGEM is a comprehensive program designed 

  • to enhance entry into and successful completion of underrepresented students in doctoral programs in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields;

  • to increase the number of these students who continue to pursue academic careers; and

  • to bring about a systemic change in attitudes of faculty, administrators, and students with regard to minority pipeline issues.

What will this program offer?

Besides involving cooperation and mutual support among the participating institutions, the AGEM program will offer a variety of support programs for graduate students. These will include: 

  • graduate bridge programs

  • skills development seminars

  • mentoring programs

  • travel and research development funds

  • seminar series

  • summer faculty development program

  • annual state-wide AGEM conference to promote networking