Faculty

Patrick Alexander

Assistant Professor of English and African-American Studies

Ph.D, English, Duke University

African-American and 19th century
American literature

Office: C-28 Bondurant

Telephone: 915-7439

pealexan@olemiss.edu


Chiyuma Elliott

Assistant Professor of English and African-American Studies

Ph.D, The University of Texas at Austin

Poetry and African-American literature

Office: C218 Bondurant

Telephone: 915-7673

celliott@olemiss.edu


Derrick Harriell

Assistant Professor of English and African-American Studies

Ph.D, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee

Poetry and African-American literature

Office: C128 Bondurant

Telephone: 915-7439

harriell@olemiss.edu


Kirk Johnson

Associate Professor of Sociology and African-American Studies

Ph.D, Sociology, University of Illinois

African-American News

Office: 315 Longstreet & 116 Leavell Hall

Telephone: 915-6505

kjohnson@olemiss.edu


Marvin King

Associate Professor of Political Science and African-American Studies

Ph.D, Political Science University of North Texas
BA, Government, University of Texas

African-American Politics, Interest Groups, and Political Parties

Office: 325 Deupree

Telephone: 915-5408

marvin@olemiss.edu


Charles K. Ross

Director, African-American Studies Program

Associate Professor of African-American Studies and History

Ph.D., Ohio State University

African-American, U.S. 20th century, Sports

Office: 309 Longstreet Hall

Telephone: 915-5978

cross@olemiss.edu


Shennette Garrett-Scott

Assistant Professor of History and African American Studies

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

20th century U.S., Women’s, Southern, Capitalism Studies

Office: 304 Longstreet Hall

Telephone: 915-2685

smgscott@olemiss.edu


Ethel Young-Minor

Associate Professor of English and
African-American Studies

Ph.D., Bowling Green State University

African-American literature

Office: 208 Bondurant W

Telephone: 915-7688

eyoungmi@olemiss.edu




Affiliated Faculty

Adetayo Alabi

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Saskatchewan

Postcolonial Studies (African, African-American and Caribbean)
Autobiographical genre in comparative Black Studies

Office: C216 Boundurant

Telephone: 915-6948

aalabi@olemiss.edu


Barbara Combs

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., Georgia State University

Office: Leavell Hall 103

Telephone: 915-7421

bcombs@olemiss.edu


Betty Crouther

Associate Professor of Art

Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia

Nineteenth and twentieth century American art / Black American Art

Office: 263 Meek Hall

Telephone: 915-7647

arpate@olemiss.edu


George Worlasi Kwasi Dor

Barksdale Associate Professor of Music and Ethnomusicology

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Sub-Saharan African music, African music theory

Office: 236 Music Building

Telephone: 915-7269

gwkdor1@olemiss.edu


Charles W. Eagles

Professor of History

Ph.D., University of North Carolina

20th Century U.S., Civil Rights and Southern History

Office: 321 Bishop

Telephone: 915-7733

eagles@olemiss.edu


Adam Gussow

Assistant Professor of English and Southern Studies

Ph.D., Princeton University

African American literature, Southern literature, Blues and Jazz literary and Cultural Studies

Office: C213 Boundurant

Telephone: 915-7333

agussow@olemiss.edu


Jeff Jackson

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Ph.D., University of Texas

Race/ethnicity, Development and Globalization

Office: 205 Leavell

Telephone: 915-5230

jacksonj@olemiss.edu


Deirdre Cooper Owens

Assistant Professor of History

Ph.D., UCLA

19th century U.S., Antebellum Slavery, Medicine, and Women's History

Office: 307 Bishop

Telephone: 915-6976

dbowen@olemiss.edu


Mohammad Bashir Salau

Associate Professor of History

Ph.D., York University, Canada

Sub Saharan Africa

Office: 328B Bishop

Telephone: 915-5751

bashir@olemiss.edu


Jodi Skipper

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Southern Studies

Ph.D., Texas

African Diaspora, Historic Archaeology, Heritage Tourism, and Museum Studies

Office: Leavell 311

Telephone: 915-3468

jskippe1@olemiss.edu


David Warren Steel

Professor of Music and Southern Culture

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Music history, Organ

Office: 315 Barr

Telephone: 915-5181

mudws@olemiss.edu


Ann Twitty

Assistant Professor of History

Ph.D., Princeton University

American Slavery

Office: 303 Bishop

Telephone: 915-5360

atwitty@olemiss.edu




Emeritus Faculty

James F. Payne

Associate Professor of African-American Studies and History (Emeritus)

Ph.D., University of California-Irvine

African-American, U.S. 20th century, Black Education

jfpayne@olemiss.edu