Scholars receive top honors at 60th Honors Day Convocation

Four outstanding students from the School of Applied Sciences received The University of Mississippi's highest academic honor during the 60th Honors Day convocation this spring.

Recipients of the prestigious Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medals were Ashley Parker Hood, of Duncan, a communicative disorders major; Paige Marie Kinslow of Little Rock, Arkansas, a communicative disorders major; Amy Davis Rutherford of Brandon, a dietetics and nutrition major; and Joli Wooldridge Nichols of Mantachie, an exercise science major.

Taylor Medals are awarded to no more than 1 percent of the University's student body each year. Recipients must be nominated for outstanding scholarship in a particular field, combined with superior work in other subjects. Each medal is


engraved with the name of the nominating department.

A faculty committee commends students to be recognized for "meritorious scholarship and deportment" from those nominated by the participating division; then the University's undergraduate and academic councils must approve the recommendations.

Eligible students must be seniors with a grade-point average of 3.80 or higher and have completed at least 18 semester hours in the school or college in which the nomination originates.

The awards were established in 1904 by Dr. William A. Taylor of Booneville, in memory of his son, Dr. Marcus Elvis Taylor, who graduated from the University in 1871, and out of "benevolent regard and good will for the youth of the state and the interest and work of The University of Mississippi.

Page design image
Taylor Medalists (from left): Jolie Wooldridge Nichols of Mantachie, Paige Marie Kinslow of Little Rock, Arkansas, Ashley Parker Hood of Duncan, and Amy Davis Rutherford of Brandon.