The Applied Approach
Spring 2004 Vol. 2 No. 1 A newsletter for the School of Applied Sciences

In this Issue

Cover Page

Letter from the Dean

Letter from the Applied Sciences Alumni Chapter president and president elect

New president of national speech-language-hearing group will focus on shortage of teachers with doctorates

Grandparents who raise grandchildren get special recognition--and help

Senior from Alabama is first recipient of Park and Recreation Management Scholarship

DeSoto Center's day classes in social work and criminal justice reach out to working students

How to stay involved in your school

School of Applied Sciences is proud of spring 2004 Phi Kappa Phi initiates

Professor's concern about kids on welfare leads to recognition from state group

Two departments get new leaders

Three Applied Sciences scholars receive UM's highest honor

National award is icing on the cake for dietetics professor who loves teaching

Teaching students to handle alcohol responsibly is task of new UM position held by Applied Sciences grad


The Applied Approach is published twice a year by the School of Applied Sciences and The University of Mississippi Alumni Association. Production services are provided by the offices of Media and Public Relations and University Publications. For more information, contact: Sheila Dossett, Alumni Association, (662) 915-7375,


Three Applied Sciences scholars receive UM's highest honor

Three applied sciences students received the University’s highest academic honor during the 61st Honors Day convocation in April.

Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medals went to Amanda Renee Canoy, an exercise science major of Nesbit; Haley Alison Fairbanks, a communicative disorders major of Oxford; and Brigitte Nichole Lange, a communicative disorders major of Iuka.

Taylor Medals are awarded to no more than 1 percent of the University’s student body each year. Recipients must be nominated for outstanding scholarship in a particular field, combined with superior work in all other subjects. Each medal has engraved on it the name of the nominating department.

A faculty committee recommends students to be recognized for “meritorious scholarship and deportment” from those nominated by the participating division, then the University’s Undergraduate and Academic councils must approve the recommendations.

To be eligible, a student must be a senior with a grade-point average of 3.80 or higher and at least 18 semester hours completed in the school or college in which the nomination originates.

The prestigious awards were established in 1904 by Dr. William A. Taylor of Booneville in memory of his son, Dr. Marcus Elvis Taylor, who graduated from Ole Miss in 1871, and out of “regard and goodwill for the youth of the state, and interest and the work of the University of Mississippi.”

Page design image

Amanda Renee Canoy

Page design image

Haley Alison Fairbanks

Page design image

Bridgette Nichole Lange

[Applied Sciences Home ]