UM Logoheader image
U of M :: College of Liberal Arts :: Chemistry & Biochemistry :: Seminars

Chemistry & Biochemistry
University of Mississippi
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-7301
(662) 915-7300 (fax)

Upcoming Seminars, Spring 2014

Coulter Hall Room 200
4:00-5:00 PM

Thursday, April 24, 2014 :: Gary Emmert
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Memphis
Host:Hussey
  
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 :: Asantha Dharmaratne
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Student Seminar
  
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 :: Lorlyn Paquibot
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Defense Seminar
  
Thursday, May 01, 2014 :: Yi Jiang
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Defense Seminar
  
Thursday, September 04, 2014 :: Dr. Thomas Vaid
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Alabama
Host:Delcamp
  

Past Seminars

Thursday, April 17, 2014 :: Dr. Webster Santos
Title:TBA
Affiliation:Virginia Tech
Host:Wadkins
  
Tuesday, April 08, 2014 :: Olajide Banks
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Student Seminar
  
Thursday, April 03, 2014 :: Dr. Douglas Masterson
Title:Utilizing Enzymes in Organic Synthesis
Affiliation:University of Southern Mississippi
Host:Tschumper
  
Thursday, March 27, 2014 :: Dr. Gary Hieftje
Title:New Tools for Chemical Measurement and Characterization
Affiliation:Indiana University
Host:Cizdziel
  
Thursday, March 06, 2014 :: Dr. Orlando Acevedo
Title:Understanding Chemical Reactions at Aqueous Surfaces, in Ionic Liquids, and within Catalytic Antibodies from QM/MM Simulations
Affiliation:Auburn University
Host:Tschumper
  
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 :: Dr. Jason Overby
Title:Building bridges in metallocenes: computational studies of the ansa-effect in main group metallocenes
Affiliation:College of Charleston
Host:Hammer
  
Thursday, February 20, 2014 :: Dr. Brian Long
Title:Development and Application of Advanced Olefin Polymerization Catalysts
Affiliation:University of Tennessee
Host:Delcamp
  
Thursday, February 13, 2014 :: Dr. Ilia Guzei
Title:Non-routine Crystal structures & History of X-rays / International year of crystallography
Affiliation:University of Wisconsin
Host:Dass
  
Thursday, February 06, 2014 :: Dr. Yongmei Wang
Title:Multiscale modeling of polymer based gene delivery vectors
Affiliation:University of Memphis
Host:Wadkins
  
Tuesday, December 03, 2013 :: Miss Kristina Cuellar
Title:The Hydrophobic Effect: A molecular Perspective
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Student Seminar
  
Monday, December 02, 2013 :: Theodore R. Helgert (2:00pm)
Title:Early Transtion Metal CCC-NHC Pincer Complexes: Synthesis, Characterization, and Catalysis
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Student Seminar
  
Thursday, November 21, 2013 :: Prof. Tracy Brooks
Title:TBA
Affiliation:University of Mississippi Pharmacology
Host:Dass
  
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 :: Dave Crasto
Title:Uncommon Core-Size Gold Nanoparticles using Sterically-Demanding thiols: The curious case of Au30(S-tBu)18
Affiliation:University of Mississippi
Host:Student Seminar
  
Thursday, November 07, 2013 :: Prof. Justin Youngblood
Title:Dye-sensitized Photogalvanic Cells based on Organic Dyes
Affiliation:University of North Texas
Host:Mattern
  
Thursday, October 31, 2013 :: Dr. Greg Tschumper
Title:What Do Chemistry, Video Games, Supercomputers, and the Nobel Prize Have in Common?
Affiliation:3:30 PM on TCRC 1000
Host:Note special time and location
  
Thursday, October 24, 2013 :: Prof. Adam Smith
Title:RAFT-Synthesized Block Copolymers for Nanomedicine
Affiliation:University of Mississippi Chemical Engineering
Host:Dass
  
Thursday, October 10, 2013 :: Dr. Fatima Rivas
Title:Synthetic studies toward diverse polycyclic natural products
Affiliation:St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Host:Dass
  
Thursday, October 03, 2013 :: Prof. Sarah Morgan
Title:Bio-inspired Approaches to Sustainable Materials Development
Affiliation:University of Southern Mississippi
Host:Dass
  
Monday, July 01, 2013 :: Prof. Gary Douberly (3:00pm)
Title:Chemistry near absolute zero: Spectroscopy of reactive molecules in liquid helium nanodroplets
Affiliation:University of Georgia
Host:REU
  
Monday, June 03, 2013 :: Prof. David Magers (3:00pm)
Title:Current Challenges in Computational Chemistry
Affiliation:Mississippi College
Host:REU
  

News