Archives & Special Collections
Finding Aids >> MUM01737

Finding Aid for the Nash & Taggart Collection (MUM01737)

Questions? Contact us!
The Nash & Taggart Collection is open for research. Audio files and transcripts are available as a digital collection at

Finding Aid for the Nash & Taggart Collection

Descriptive Summary

Title: Nash & Taggart Collection
Dates: 2004-2007
Collector: Nash, Jere; Taggart, Andy
Physical Extent: 9.11GB
Repository: University of Mississippi. Department of Archives and Special Collections.University, MS 38677, USA
Identification: MUM01737
Location: Modern Political Archives
Language of Material: English
Abstract: The Nash & Taggart Collection consists of audio recordings of oral histories conducted by Jere Nash and Andy Taggart in the process of writing their book Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 and the subsequent edition Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2008.

Administrative Information

Acquisition Information

The nonprofit corporation Mississippi History Project, Inc. donated the Nash & Taggart Collection to the University of Mississippi in 2009.

Processing Information

Digital Initiatives Librarian Jason Kovari converted the original .dss audio files into .wav files and .mp3 access copies. Political Papers Archivist Leigh McWhite reviewed the recordings to compile content descriptions.

The preservation of recordings in this collection is the result of a project supported in part by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed on this website do not necessarily represent those of the Institute of Museum and Library Services.


The digital collection will expand in the future as time restrictions lapse on specific interviews.

Subject Terms

Mississippi -- Politics and government
Political campaigns -– Mississippi
Mississippi. Governor
United States. Congress
Mississippi. Legislature
Educational law and legislation
Apportionment (Election law) –- Mississippi
Gambling -– Law and legislation
Roads -- Mississippi
Torts -- United States
Liability (Law) -- United States
Democratic Party (Miss.)
Republican Party (Miss.)
Ainsworth, John Ed
Allain, Bill
Anderson, Reuben V. (Reuben Vincent), 1942-
Barbour, Haley, 1947-
Bronstein, Alvin J.
Brown, Walter
Carmichael, Gil
Carter, Hodding
Carter, Rick
Clark, Charles
Clark Eric
Cochran, Thad
Connor, Peggy Jean
Cupit, Danny E.
Dantin, Maurice
Derian, Patricia M.
Dye, Brad
Edwards, Wayne
Endris, Glenn
Espy, Mike, 1953-
Evers, Charles, 1922-
Ford, Tim, 1951-
Gollott, Tommy
Gordon, Jack
Griffith, Lanny, 1951-
Guyot, Lawrence
Guyton, Steve
Holloman, John H., 1937-
Klumb, Charles
Langston, Joey
Leonard, Jerris (Jerris G.), 1931-2006
Levanway, Scott
Maxey, John
McKellar, Charles
McLemore, Leslie Burl
McMillen, Neil R., 1939-
Medlin, Buddy
Molpus, Dick
Montgomery, Bob
Moore, Mike
Mounger, William D.
Patterson, Steve
Pennebaker, John
Perry, Ed, 1942-
Pittman, Crymes G.
Powell, Billy
Reed, Clarke
Reed, Jack
Scruggs, Dickie
Spell, Bill
Triggs, Gene
Waggoner, Sam
Walls, Johnnie
Walman, Thomas H.
Watkins, David
Winter, William F.
Yerger, Wirt A.
Zucarro, Joe


born digital
sound recordings

Biographical Note

A liberal, Jere Nash has worked on the campaigns for a number of Democratic candidates in the state of Mississippi. He has also served as director of Common Cause in Mississippi, executive director of Mississippi First, deputy state auditor, and chief of staff for Governor Ray Mabus.

A conservative, Andy Taggart practices law in Madison County and serves on the Madison County Board of Supervisors. He has also held the posts of executive director of the Mississippi Republican Party, chief of staff of Governor Kirk Fordice, and president/CEO of the Mississippi Technology Alliance.

Together, they have written a contemporary political history of the state that chronicles events and documents major transformations in the state and its power structure.

Scope and Content Note

The collection consists of 84 recordings of interviews that authors Jere Nash and Andy Taggart conducted with 60 individuals in the process of conducting research for their book Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 (University Press of Mississippi, 2006) and a subsequent 2008 edition. It also includes transcripts prepared for the authors for 38 of the recordings (warning note: researchers should only use the transcripts as a guide since spelling errors and other inaccuracies are frequent).

Interviewees include governors, members of the U.S. Congress, state legislators, state officials, state party leaders, political candidates, staff members, lawyers, and lobbyists. The subject of discussions range from state political parties, national and state elections, individual politicians, educational reform, the state highway program, gambling, tort reform, and reapportionment.

User Information

Prefered Citation

Nash & Taggart Collection, Archives and Special Collections, J.D. Williams Library, The University of Mississippi

Access Restrictions

The Nash & Taggart Collection is open for research. Audio files and transcripts are available as a digital collection at

Copyright Restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

Related Material

Resources at the University of Mississippi

For other politically-related holdings at the Archives & Special Collections, see the Politics & Government subject guide.

Container List

Interview Subjects
Note: The interviews and transcripts are available as a digital collection at The digital collection will provide more detailed information about the topics discussed in each interview.
John Ed Ainsworth
Bill Allain
Reuben V. Anderson
Haley Barbour
Alvin J. Bronstein
Walter Brown
Gil Carmichael
Hodding Carter
Rick Carter
Charles Clark
Eric Clark
Thad Cochran
Peggy Jean Connor
David Crews
Danny Cupit
Maurice Dantin
Patricia M. Derian
Brad Dye
Wayne Edwards
Glenn Endris
Mike Espy
Charles Evers
Tim Ford
Tommy Gollott
Jack Gordon
Lanny Griffith
Lawrence Guyot
Steve Guyton
John Holloman
Charles Klumb
Joey Langston
Jerris Leonard
Scott Levanway
John Maxey
Charles McKellar
Leslie McLemore
Neil McMillen
Buddy Medlin
Dick Molpus
Bob Montgomery
Mike Moore
William D. Mounger
Steve Patterson
John Pennebaker
Ed Perry
Cyrmes G. Pittman
Billy Powell
Clarke Reed
Jack Reed
Richard Scruggs
Bill Spell
John Hampton Stennis
Terrell Stubbs
Gene Triggs
Sam Waggoner
Johnnie Walls
Thomas H. Walman
David Watkins
William F. Winter
Wirt A. Yerger
Joe Zucarro