Phone +1-(662)-915-5521      Email
University of Mississippi

Advisory Board

PRM ScholarshipsPurpose

The purpose of the PRM Advisory Board is to support the goals and mission of the Park and Recreation Division in the Department of HESRM, to advise the program coordinator and department chair on matters related to enrollment, curriculum, and degrees relevant to the profession and accreditation, secure contributions for the PRM Student Endowment Scholarship Fund, and to assist in awarding scholarships to qualifying students.

The University of Mississippi Recreation Administration Advisory Board is comprised of professionals from public, commercial, and not-for-profit sectors that represent the recreation and leisure service fields. Advisory Board members provide valuable input on issues pertaining to academics and the world beyond campus. The Advisory Board meets each academic semester.

A major goal during each meeting is to judge and award financial assistance to a deserving undergraduate or graduate student who demonstrates leadership qualities, academic excellence, and the desire to pursue a career in the field of recreation.

Opportunities to Give

I/We will support the Recreation Administration Endowment Scholarship with a gift of $_______________ at the following plateau:

Friends Society

Gift up to $99

Associates Society

Gift of $100-$249

Patron Society

Gift of $250-$499

Sponsor Society

Gift of $500-$999

Fellows Society

Gift of $1,000

Benefactor Society

Gift of $5,000

Founder Society

Gift of $10,000

Endowment Society

Gift of $25,000


Please make checks payable to The University of Mississippi Foundation and return your contribution to this address:

The University of Mississippi Foundation
P.O. Box 249, University, MS 38677-0249
(800) 340-9542, (662) 915 5944


Mr. Mark Garneau
Assistant Director of Campus Recreation/Aquatics/Adjunct Instructor
University of Mississippi
214 Turner Center
University, MS 38677
Fax: 662-915-5593

Mr. Jason Shirkey
Associate Director of Campus Recreation
University of Mississippi
214 Turner Center
University, MS 38677
Fax: 662-915-5593

Ms. Sheila Dossett
Advancement Associate
Alumni Affairs
University of Mississippi
University, MS  38677
Fax: 662-915-7756

Ms. Karen Dunn
Public Relations Mgr/Grant Writer
The Baddour Center
3297 Highway 51 South
P. O. Box 97
Senatobia, MS 38668
662-562-0100 ext. 1231

Ms. Deb Helms
Consultant and Adjunct HESRM
204 Combs St.
 Oxford, MS 38655.
(662) 513-7846.

Mr. Bebo Howell
Executive Director
American Red Cross No. Central MS Service Center
407 So. 11th Street
Oxford, MS 38655
Office:  662-232-1282

Ms. Anne Kelly
Manager, Hopewell Camp & Conference Center
24 CR 231
Oxford, MS 38655
Office:  234-2254 Ext. 105
Fax: 234-4150

Mr. Don Lewis
Director, Tupelo Parks and Recreation Department
655 Rutherford Road
P. O. Box 3608
Tupelo, MS 38803

Mrs. Julie Chadwick
Director, TAD Center
967 Regional Center Drive
Oxford, MS  38655
Fax: 662-234-1699

Mr. Alton Pollan   
Resources Manager
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
29049 Hwy 315       
Sardis, MS  38666
Fax: 662-563-4433

Mr. Bubba Robinson
Deputy Director
Oxford Park Commission
310 S. 15th Street
Oxford, MS 38655

Gerry Logan
PRMA President
8 PR 3151 Apartment 1
Oxford, MS 38655

Mr. Rick Jameson
Manager,  Sardis Lake Marina
30117 Blackjack Road
Sardis, MS 38666

Terry Shinall,
Director, Recreation Therapy
967 Regional Center Drive
Oxford, MS  38655
Fax: 662-234-1699