linedot break

Dr. Melissa Bass

  Dr. Melissa Bass, Assistant Professor of Public Policy Leadership at the University of Mississippi.

Assistant Professor


Ph.D. in Politics, Brandeis University
M.A. in Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
B.A., Indiana University-Bloomington


Office: Odom 108, Phone: 662.915.1440

linedot break

Dr. Weixing (Mark) Chen, Chair

  Thumbnail photo of Dr. Weixing (Mark) Chen, Chair and Professor of Public Policy Leadership

Full Professor


Ph.D. in Political Science, Northern Illinois University
M.A. in International Relations and Law, College of International Relations (Beijing)
B.A. in English and Literature, Shandong University


Office: Odom 104, Phone: 662.915.7347




Dr. Joel F. Clark

  Dr. Joel F. Clark, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Public Policy Leadership.

Adjunct Assistant Professor


Washington Internship Experience Coordinator


Ph.D. in Political Science, University of California, Santa Barbara, bio


Office Phone: 703.307.9770


Dr. Joseph (Jody) Holland

  Dr. Jody Holland.

Assistant Professor


Ph.D. in Public Policy and Administration, Mississippi State University
Master of Science in Management, Belhaven College
Bachelor of Business Administration, Delta State University, curriculum vitæ


Office: 106 Odom Hall, Phone: 662.915.1362

Crystal Jones   Thumbnail photo of Crystal Jones, Administrative Coordinator II in Public Policy Leadership.
Administrative Coordinator II  
B.B.A. in Business Administration and Management, University of Mississippi
Office: 105 Odom Hall, Phone: 662.915.7347, Fax: 662.915.1954  

A native of New Orleans, Louisiana, Crystal Ferrier Jones serves as the Administrative Coordinator II for the Department of Public Policy Leadership. She began working at The University of Mississippi June of 1999 and started working in Public Policy Leadership in August of 2013. 

Carley Lovorn   Carley Lovorn, Assistant Director, Mississippi Geographic Alliance, The University of Mississippi
Assistant Director, Mississippi Geographic Alliance  
M.S. in International Social Welfare and Policy, Columbia University
B.S. in Human and Organizational Development and English, Vanderbilt University
Office: 308 Odom Hall, Phone: 662.915.3776, Fax: 662.915.1903  

Dr. David Rutherford

  Dr. David Rutherford, Associate Professor of Public Policy Leadership at The University of Mississippi

Associate Professor


Executive Director, Mississippi Geographic Alliance


Ph.D. in Geography, Texas State University San Marcos
M.A. in Geography, California State University Fullerton
B.A. in Geography, University of California Santa Barbara, Web site


Office: Odom 111, Phone: 662.915.1337


Office hours: T's & Th's 11:00 - Noon & 2:00 – 3:00, or by appointment



Dr. Christian Sellar

  Dr. Christian Sellar, Assistant Professor of Public Policy Leadership at The University of Mississippi

Assistant Professor


Ph.D. in Geography, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D. in Geo-History and Geo-Economy of border regions, Università degli Studidi Trieste, Italy
B.A. and M.A. in Communication Studies, Curriculum in Business and InstitutionalCommunication, Università degli Studi di Trieste, Italy, Web site, curriculum vitæ


Office: Lott 106, Phone: 662.915.6613




Dr. Louise Vigeant

  Thumbnail photo of Dr. Louise Vigeant, Visiting Assistant Professor of Public Policy Leadership.

Visiting Assistant Professor


Ph.D. in Philosophy, Cornell University
M.A. in Philosophy, Carleton University
M.A. in Linguistics, Stanford University
B.A. in Philosophy, University of Ottawa


Office: Odom 306, Phone: 662.915.2736




Dr. Eric Thomas Weber

  Dr. Eric Thomas Weber, Associate Professor of Public Policy Leadership at The University of Mississippi

Associate Professor

Executive Director, Society of Philosophers in America (SOPHIA)

Freelance columnist on contract with The Clarion Ledger of Jackson, MS

Chair of the Am. Phil. Assoc's Committee on Public Philosophy, 2011-14

Ph.D. in Philosophy, Southern Illinois University
M.A. in Philosophy, Ohio University
B.S. in Philosophy and Communication Studies, Vanderbilt University, Web site, SOPHIA Web site, APA Committee on Public Philosophy Web site


Office: Odom 110, Phone: 662.915.1336, Fax: 662.915.1954


Honored with the Cora Lee Graham Award for the Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen in May of 2011 and the Thomas F. Frist Student Service Award in May of 2012.


picture of line break