link to homepage

Department of Mathematics Undergraduate Student Scholarships

1. The Alfred Hume Award for Outstanding Senior in Mathematics, established in 1960, is presented each year to the senior student majoring in Mathematics who has the best four-year record in the subject. The recipient, together with the right to represent the Math Department on the "Honors Day", gets a one year membership in the MAA.

2. The Hugh Lawrence Quarles and Corrie Dennis Quarles Scholarship was established in 1988. Recipients shall be full-time students who are Mathematics majors and are selected by the faculty of the Department.
Recipients must have a minimum of 3.25 overall grade point average to be eligible. They will be chosen in the spring of their sophomore year to receive the scholarship in their junior and senior years. Preference will be given to students from Mississippi and Alabama. After selection, the recipient must maintain a minimum 3.25 overall grade point average and a 3.5 grade point average in mathematics. He/she has to be approved for continuance by the faculty. The award will carry an initial stipend of $4,000 payable at the rate of $2,000 per semester for the junior and, if extended, senior years of study.

3. The T.A. Bickerstaff Scholarship was established in 1983 as a memorial to the late chairman of the Department of Mathematics. The recipient shall be a junior Mathematics major with the highest achievement as determined by the faculty. The scholarship will be announced in the spring of the junior year and the amount of the award shall be equal to the amount earned by the endowment fund during the previous period which usually amounts to $750 per semester. The award shall be effective for the fall and spring semesters of the senior year.

4. The Alton C. Grimes Scholarship was established by Mr. Grimes in 1989 to assist deserving students of high moral character who demonstrate scholastic ability and financial need. Awardees shall be in a curriculum which requires a minimum of 18 hours of mathematics beginning with calculus. The scholarship is in the amount of $750 per academic year.

5. The John Roger Moore III Scholarship was established in 1990 and is presented each year in the amount of $500 per academic year.
The recipient shall be a full time student majoring in Mathematics.

6. The PI MU EPSILON AWARD is presented annually to the outstanding member of The University of Mississippi Chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon honorary mathematical fraternity, based on service and performance during the academic year. The recipient receives a five-year subscription to the National Pi Mu Epsilon Journal.

Past winners


  • Hume: Amanda Lee Hall



  • Quarles: Noel Childress (extended), Dylan Hundelt
  • Bickerstaff: Kenna Collums
  • Grimes: Paul Neubert
  • Moore: Eleanor Anthony
  • Hume: Aaron Moeller



  • Quarles: Aaron Moeller (extended), Noel Childress
  • Bickerstaff: Aaron Moeller
  • Grimes: Jonathan Broom
  • Moore: Dan Nemesek
  • Hume: Mary Margaret Rich



  • Quarles: Aaron Moeller, Thomas Koslowski
  • Bickerstaff: Chiahau Soh
  • Grimes: Tetyana Dewland
  • Moore: Dora Frances Sullivan-Gonzalez
  • Hume: Kimberly Rebekah Harris



  • Quarles: Thomas Koslowski
  • Bickerstaff: Mary Margaret Rich
  • Grimes: Mellisa Daniella Bond
  • Moore: Matthew Stephenson
  • Hume: Matthew Stephenson



  • Quarles: Samuel Watson, Wei Wei, Anne Nicholas, Cameron Byrum
  • Bickerstaff: George Richardson
  • Hume: David Kimery
  • Grimes: Zachary Cruthirds



  • Alfred Hume Memorial Prize-Mathew David McChesney
  • Hugh Lawrence Quarles and Corrie Dennis Quarles Endowment: Samuel Stewart Watson
  • T. A. Bickerstaff Memorial Award: Robyn Dana Bright
  • Alton C. Grimes Award: Stephanie Ryland