1 p.m., Friday, April 13, 2007, in Lyceum 110


PRESENT:       Dr. Canty, Dr. Gispen, Dr. Raines, Ms. Riley-Huff, Dr. Schroeder, Dr. Kroeger,

                          Dr. Murchison, Dr. Fant, Dr. McCaffrey, Dr. Lackey, Mr. Upton, Dr. Wilder

ABSENT:          Dr. Hall, Dr. Bush, Ms. Bounds, Mr. Rollins, Dr. Eftink

             1. Approval of Minutes.

             The Chair announced that Chancellor Khayat has approved the minutes of the February 2 and March 2 meetings without exception.

              2. Catalog Changes-Department of Social Work (see Attachment #1)

             On a motion by Dr. Gispen and a second by Dr. McCaffrey, the Council unanimously approved the proposed changes to the Social Work curriculum to meet the 124 hour degree requirement, with the exception that the document should state that changes will become effective for fall 2007.

             3. 124 Hour Degree Requirements (see Attachment #2).

             A table of information concerning the 124 credit hour degree requirements and

the exceptions allowed by IHL was presented to Council members. The Council took no action.

             4. Other Changes (see Attachment #3).


             Dr. McCaffrey presented two changes from the School of Pharmacy. First, the School requested reinstatement of PHCL 381, Introduction to Toxicology. The Council had previously supported a request for deletion of this course. The previous request, however, resulted from miscommunication between the department and office of the dean. The course is an elective for pharmacy students, and is primarily taken by Forensic Science majors. On a motion by Dr. Schroeder and a second by Dr. Gispen, the reinstatement of PHCL 381 was approved.

             The Council discussed the second proposed change by the School of Pharmacy to delete the Pharmaceutical Marketing and Management tracks in the B. S. in Pharmaceutical Sciences degree program as well as the discontinuation of the minor in Pharmacy Administration, effective fall 2008. Dr. McCaffrey indicated that the School of Pharmacy had communicated the proposed change to Dean Brian Reithel of the School of Business Administration about discontinuing the minor. The School of Pharmacy will continue to offer the courses through the academic year 2007-08. On a motion by Dr. Gispen and a second by Dr. McCaffrey, the Council unanimously approved the changes.

             5. Adjournment. The meeting adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

All items approved by the Council of Academic Administrators on May 14, 2007.

APPROVED by Chancellor Khayat on July 11, 2007.