Skip navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Frist Student Service Award

The University of Mississippi is seeking nominations of faculty and staff who deserve special recognition for rendering outstanding service to students.

April 15 Deadline

Students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends have until 5 p.m., Wednesday, April 15 to submit nominations for the 20th annual Thomas Frist Student Service Awards.

The awards recognize one faculty member and one staff member for going the extra mile in unwavering dedication to students. Any full-time faculty or staff member, except previous winners, is eligible for the award, which includes a $1,000 prize and a plaque.

Nominations may be submitted using an online form. The nomination narrative should differentiate between obligation and service by citing specific examples in which the person being nominated has gone beyond the call of duty to help a student or group of students. Past nominations are also considered.

"Many faculty and staff on our campus fit the criteria for the Frist Award, which helps us identify two individuals who are exemplary of going beyond the norm in extending a helping hand to our students," Chancellor Dan Jones said.

All nominees are notified that they have been so honored, and a campus committee appointed by the chancellor chooses the two winners. Awards are to be presented May 9 at UM's spring Commencement.

Past winners of the Frist Award include current faculty members Aileen Ajootian, Don Cole, Charles Eagles, Ellen Meacham, Terry Panhorst, Ken Sufka and Eric Weber; and current staff members Thelma Curry, Dewey Knight, Ginger Patterson, Thomas J. Reardon, Valeria Ross, Marc Showalter and Linda Spargo.

The Frist Student Service Awards were established with a $50,000 gift from the late Dr. Thomas F. Frist of Nashville, a 1930 UM graduate.