Faculty Bios

Robert Riggs, chair, music history

  • Professor of Music
  • BM, MM, New Mexico; AM, PhD, Harvard
  • 915-7268, Room 112K
  • E-mail: muriggs@olemiss.edu

Libby Armour, violin

Julia Aubrey, opera theatre

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, MM, MA, Missouri
  • 915-1280, Room 141
  • E-mail: jaubrey@olemiss.edu

Robert H. Aubrey, music education

  • Instructional Assistant Professor of Music
  • BME, Oklahoma City; MME, Indiana; PhD, Missouri
  • 915-5278, Room 233
  • E-mail: raubrey@olemiss.edu

Nancy M. Balach, voice

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, Carnegie Mellon; MM, Manhattan School of Music
  • 915-1279, Room 140
  • E-mail: nmbalach@olemiss.edu

Ricky Burkhead, percussion

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BME, Mississippi Valley State; MA, Eastern Illinois
  • 915-5665, Room 103
  • E-mail: burkhead@olemiss.edu

David Hugh Carlisle, music literature

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BM, Rochester; MM, Toronto
  • 915-7268, Room 118A
  • E-mail: carlisle@olemiss.edu

Randy Dale, assistant director of bands

  • Instructional Assistant Professor of Music
  • BME, MME, Mississippi
  • 915-8801 Room 103
  • E-mail: rndale@olemiss.edu

Bill DeJournett, associate director of bands

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, Jacksonville State; MM, Northern Illinois; DA, Mississippi
  • 915-5636, Room 103
  • E-mail: dejou@olemiss.edu

George Worlasi Kwasi Dor, ethnomusicology, honors

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, MPhil, University of Ghana; PhD, Pittsburgh
  • 915-7269, Room 236
  • E-mail: gwkdor1@olemiss.edu

Adam Estes, saxophone, double reeds

  • Assistant Professor of Music
  • BM, Tarleton State; MM, DMA, South Carolina
  • 915-1274, Room 135
  • E-mail: ajestes@olemiss.edu

Micah Everett, low brass

  • Assistant Professor of Music
  • BME, Delta State; MM, DMA, UNC Greensboro
  • 915-1494, Room 127
  • E-mail: mpeveret@olemiss.edu

Dianne L. Falkner, music education

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BM, MM, DA, Mississippi
  • 915-7268, Room 112J
  • E-mail: dfalkner@olemiss.edu

Stanley Friedman, composition

Michael Gardiner, music theory

  • Assistant Professor of Music
  • BA, Skidmore; MM, DMA, New England Conservatory
  • 915-5116, Room 112I
  • E-mail: mcgardin@olemiss.edu

Susan Gaston, cello

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BA, Duke; MM, Arizona
  • 915-7268, Room 229
  • E-mail: sgaston@olemiss.edu

Ian Hominick, piano

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, Mount Allison; MM, Bowling Green; DMA, Ohio State
  • 915-1282, Room 126
  • E-mail: ihominic@olemiss.edu

Amanda Johnston, coach/accompanist

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BMus, Queen's University (Canada); MM (künstlerisches Diplom), Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar (Germany)
  • 915-6962, Room 240
  • E-mail: ajjohnst@olemiss.edu

Caroline Kinsey, horn

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BM, Eastman; MM Texas San Antonio
  • 915-7268, Room 229
  • E-mail: cjkinsey@olemiss.edu

John Latartara, music theory

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, MM, DMA, New England Conservatory
  • 915-1366, Room 124
  • E-mail: jlatarta@olemiss.edu

Yan Mao, viola

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BA, Shandong University of Arts; MM, Mississippi
  • 915-7268, Room 231
  • E-mail: ymao@olemiss.edu

Charles F. Miles, music literature

Jos Milton, voice

  • Assistant Professor of Music
  • BM, Trinity (Texas); MM, Massachusetts; DMA, Peabody Institute
  • 915-1638, Room 143
  • E-mail: jemilton@olemiss.edu

Andrew Paney, music education

  • Assistant Professor of Music
  • BMEd, Wheaton; MMEd, PhD, Texas Tech
  • 915-5441, Room 134
  • E-mail: apaney@olemiss.edu

Adrienne Claire Park, accompanist

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BM, Houston; MS, University of British Columbia
  • 915-7268, Room 138
  • E-mail: apark@olemiss.edu

Bradley Robinson, voice

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BME, Fort Hayes State; MM, Florida State; DMA, Illinois
  • 915-1278, Room 235
  • E-mail: robinson@olemiss.edu

Jennifer Robinson, voice

  • Instructor in Music
  • BME, Western Michigan; MM, Florida State
  • 915-1281, Room 238
  • E-mail: jjrobins@olemiss.edu

Stacy Rodgers, piano, accompanying

  • Professor of Music
  • BM, Southern Methodist; MM, Texas
  • 915-7027, Room 128
  • E-mail: srodgers@olemiss.edu

Michael Rowlett, clarinet, music literature

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, North Carolina; MM, Iowa; DMA, Florida State
  • 915-3780, Room 131
  • E-mail: mrowlett@olemiss.edu

John Schuesselin, trumpet

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BM, Eastman; MM, Kent State, DMA, Louisiana State
  • 915-5117, Room 129
  • E-mail: jschuess@olemiss.edu

Alan L. Spurgeon, music education

  • Professor of Music
  • BME, Truman State; MM, Arkansas; PhD, Oklahoma
  • 915-5170, Room 137
  • E-mail: aspurg@olemiss.edu

Debra Spurgeon, choral music education

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BME, Truman State; MME, Arkansas; DMA, Oklahoma
  • 915-6964, Room 133
  • E-mail: dspurg@olemiss.edu

Warren Steel, music history, organ

  • Professor of Music and Southern Culture
  • AB, Harvard; AM, PhD, Michigan
  • 915-5183, Room 232
  • E-mail: mudws@olemiss.edu

Donald L. Trott, director of choral activities

  • Professor of Music
  • BME, Westminster Choir College; MM, DMA, Oklahoma
  • 915-6963, Room 121A
  • E-mail: dtrott@olemiss.edu

Ronald F. Vernon, conducting

  • Professor of Music Emeritus
  • BM, Louisiana Tech; MM, DMA, Texas
  • 915-7268, Room 139
  • E-mail: rvernon@olemiss.edu

Diane Wang, flute, piano

  • Instructor in Music
  • BM, Indiana; MM, Texas
  • 915-7029, Room 237
  • E-mail: dwang@olemiss.edu

Nancy Welch, accompanist

  • Adjunct Instructor in Music
  • BM, BME, Central Missouri; MA, Iowa
  • 915-7268, Room 234
  • E-mail: njwelch@olemiss.edu

David Willson, director of bands

Michael D. Worthy, jazz ensemble, music education

  • Associate Professor of Music
  • BME, MM, Southwestern Oklahoma; PhD, Texas
  • 915-1277, Room 227
  • E-mail: mworthy@olemiss.edu