Music Honors Convocation

Eta Nu Chapter
The Society of Pi Kappa Lambda
announces the Twenty-Fourth Annual

Music Department Honors Convocation

Wednesday, April 29, 2015
12:30 pm

Nutt Auditorium
University of Mississippi

  • Honors recital featuring outstanding student performers
  • Recognition of student and faculty inductees in The Society of Pi Kappa Lambda: undergraduates Thomas Burnette, Rachel Dennis, Claudia Salcedo and Benjamin Bickley; graduate students Bo Boutwell, Katri Gilbert, Jacquelyn Skoog, Andrew Smiley, Erica Kupinski and Jeremy Scarbrough; and faculty transfer Micah Everett.
  • Presentation of awards to outstanding students and performers
    1. Outstanding pianist: Serena Khiantani
    2. Outstanding instrumentalists: Thomas Burnette and Chelsea Riches (Concerto Competition Winners: Thomas Burnette, George Money and Chelsea Riches)
    3. Outstanding vocalist: John Brenton Strauss and Kyle Davis (Miklós Bencze singer of the year)
    4. Opera theatre awards: Andrew Ross and Jacquelyn Skoog
    5. Choral excellence award: Kyle Davis
    6. Ethnomusicology award: D. J. Culp
    7. Music theory award: Meghan Brown
    8. Music education awards: Erin Saunders, D. J. Fitzgerald, Bo Boutwell and Kevin Tharp
    9. Outstanding undergraduate student: Ben Bickley
    10. Outstanding graduate student: Katri Gilbert
  • Address by distinguished professor Warren Steel

A reception for honorees followed immediately after the Convocation. Congratulations to all our outstanding students!