The University of Mississippi
Moot Court Board

About Us

Photo of the group

By the end of each academic year, the Moot Court Board comprises roughly 60 members, with membership split evenly between the 2L and 3L classes. Membership competitions are held each fall and spring. The fall competition features appellate advocacy and the spring competition simulates a full trial. Students on the Moot Court Board can receive one hour of academic credit per semester of membership. To earn credit hours, members are required to participate in two competitions during their time on the Board. These two competitions are in addition to the competition that secured the student’s membership on the board.

The Moot Court Board sponsors and competes in numerous in-house and interscholastic competitions during the course of the year. During the fall semester, the board hosts the Daniel Coker Appellate Advocacy Competition and the Steen Dalehite Scholarship Trial Competition (open to all 2L and 3L University of Mississippi law students). In the spring, the Board hosts the Campbell DeLong Trial Membership Competition, the Currie Johnson Appellate Competition, and the Copeland Cook 1L Appellate Competition.

In addition to internal competitions, the Moot Court Board fields numerous interscholastic teams that travel to national competitions held across the country. Teams compete in specialized areas of law such as criminal procedure, bankruptcy, First Amendment, environmental, intellectual property, religious freedom, and civil and criminal trial. Teams are funded by our generous law firms sponsors and the School of Law. Interscholastic teams have the opportunity to compete against law schools from across the country and argue before active members of the judiciary. The Moot Court Board is proud of the success our members and coaches have achieved at regional and national level competitions.

P.O. Box 1848 University MS, 38677-1848 | Tel: 662-915-3479 | | Law School Home