Welcome to the home page of the Mississippi Philosophical Association. As set forth in our constitution, the purpose of the MPA is to increase the understanding and appreciation of philosophy; to encourage research and advance the standards and ideals of the teaching of philosophy; and to cultivate an interest in the study of philosophy in Mississippi institutions of higher learning.

The MPA holds an annual meeting, usually in the spring, featuring papers by faculty, students, and invited speakers. Members not on the faculty of one of the four multi-person philosophy departments in the state pay $20 per year in dues, but the annual meetings are free and open to the public. Prior conferences focused on Philosophy of Race (2014-2015), Consciousness (2013-14), Philosophy of Biology (2012-13) and Experimental Philosophy (2011-12). Our most recent conference was in March 2016 at Mississippi State University. The theme was Attention, with R.W. Kentridge of Durham University as the keynote speaker.

The 2017 meeting will be held at the Student Union of Mississippi State University on Friday and Saturday, February 3-4. The theme of the conference is "Civic Studies." The keynote speaker is Peter Levine (Tufts University). Here is the full schedule.

Friday, February 3

noon-1:00 p.m. Box lunch

1:00-1:30p.m. Conference and Theme Introduction: Anthony Neal, Mississippi State University

1:30-2:30p.m. MPA Presidential Address: Michael Bruno, Mississippi State University

2:30-3:30p.m. Benjamin Curtis

3:30-3:45p.m. Coffee Break

3:45-4:45p.m. Laura Matthews

4:45-6:00p.m. Keynote Lecture: Peter Levine, Associate Dean for Research and Lincoln Filene Professor of Citizenship & Public Affairs, Jonathan M. Tisch College of Public Life, Tufts University (Medford, MA) (Introduction by Anthony Neal, Mississippi State University)

6:15p.m. Depart for Bickle-Bernstein Farm

7:00-10:00p.m. Conference Reception, Bickle-Bernstein Farm, Webster County

Saturday, February 4

8:30-9:00a.m. Coffee, Breakfast Snacks

9:00-10:00a.m. Steven Skultety

10:00-11:00a.m. John Bickle

11:00-11:15a.m. Coffee Break

11:15a.m.-12:15p.m. Jordan Davis

12:15-1:45p.m. Lunch; MPA Business Meeting

1:45-2:45p.m. Derik Timmerman

2:45-3:45p.m. Steven Smith

3:45-4:00p.m. Coffee Break

4:00-5:00p.m. Marcus Hunt

5:00p.m. Conference Banquet

Those interested in staying in Starkville and receiving the room rate should call the Comfort Suites on 801 Russell St., Starkville by the 27th of January [662/324-9595]. For additional details about the conference, including information about parking and transportation, contact the Program Chair, Anthony Neal (aneal@philrel.msstate.edu).
‭+1 (662) 324-9595‬

Officers for 2016-17:


Mike Bruno, Department of Philosophy and Religion, Mississippi State University (mb1595@philrel.msstate.edu)


Anthony Neal, Department of Philosophy and Religion, Mississippi State University (aneal@philrel.msstate.edu)


Neil Manson, Department of Philosophy and Religion, The University of Mississippi (namanson@olemiss.edu)


Steven Smith, Department of Philosophy, Millsaps College (smithsg@millsaps.edu)

Bart Moffatt, Department of Philosophy and Religion, Mississippi State University

Donovan Wishon, Department of Philosophy and Religion, the University of Mississippi

Robert Thompson
, Department of Philosophy and Religion, Mississippi State University