

5 December 2018

WHEREAS academic freedom is essential to the University of Mississippi's mission to "create, evaluate, share, and apply knowledge in a free, open, and inclusive environment of intellectual inquiry;" and

WHEREAS the University of Mississippi endorses the American Association of University Professors' 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure, which states "the common good depends upon the free search for truth and its free exposition" and that academic freedom is "fundamental to the advancement of truth;" and

WHEREAS the Chancellor, who, as leader of the University, is presumed to speak for the University as a whole and commands the attention of a wide audience that is further expanded by the extensive reach of the internet and social media; and

WHEREAS the Chancellor published an editorial on October 11, 2018, questioning the methods employed by members of the University faculty whose credentials and expertise have been recognized by the University and whose research was approved by the Institutional Research Board; and

WHEREAS public statements of this sort have a chilling effect on intellectual inquiry and academic freedom on campus; and

WHEREAS the internet and social media create an instant platform for the widespread dispersal of public statements such as the Chancellor's and at the same time magnify the demands of self-appointed watchdogs external to the University; and

WHEREAS senior leadership at the University plays an essential role in defending academic freedom;

BE IT RESOLVED that, on behalf of the faculty of the University of Mississippi, the Faculty Senate reaffirms the necessity of academic freedom to the University's mission, upholds the 1940 "Statement of Principles," and encourages senior leadership to use their positions of authority judiciously, to generally refrain from questioning the credibility of faculty scholarship, and to recognize and mitigate against any and all threats to academic freedom.

THE SENATE OF THE FACULTY

Dr. Brice Noonan

Chair of the Faculty Senate

Faculty Senators

Jeff Pickerd, Accountancy	Phillis George, Higher Education	Meagen Rosenthal, Pharmacy
Le'Trice Donaldson, African	Eddeution	Administration
American Studies	Zachary Kagan Guthrie, History	Stuart Haines, Pharmacy
Nancy Wicker, Art & Art History	Vivian Ibrahim, History	Practice
Brice Noonan, Biology	April Holm, History	Fei Lan, Philosophy & Religion
Brad Jones, Biology	Evangeline Robinson, Journalism	Breese Quinn, Physics & Astronomy
Cole Stevens, BioMolecular Sciences	Stacey Lantagne, Law	Susan Allen, Political Science
Brenda Prager, Chemical	Dennis Bunch, Leadership & Counselor Education	Marilyn Mendolia, Psychology
Engineering Amal Dass, Chemistry &	Kimberly Kaiser, Legal Studies	Kyle Fritz, Public Policy Leadership
Biochemistry	Cecelia Parks, Library	Tess Lefmann, Social Work
Chris Mullen, Civil Engineering	Kristin Rogers, Library	Ana Velitchkova, Sociology &
Aileen Ajootian, Classics	John Berns, Management	Anthropology
Carolyn Higdon, Communication Sciences &	Sumali Conlon, Management Information Systems	Simone Delerme, Sociology & Anthropology
Disorders	Saim Kashmiri, Marketing	Roy Thurston, Teacher Education
Byung Jang, Computer & Information Science	Jeremy Clark, Mathematics	Andy Cheng, Teacher
Lei Cao, Electrical Engineering	Tejas Pandya, Mechanical Engineering	Education
Beth Ann Fennelly, English	Tamara Warhol, Modern	Laura Prior, Teacher Education
Cristie Ellis, English	Languages	René Pulliam, Theatre Arts
Matt Bondurant, English	Corina Petrescu, Modern Languages	Stephen Monroe, Writing and Rhetoric
Kathleen Fuller, Finance	Thomas Peattie, Music	Michael Barnett, Past-Chair
Jennifer Gifford, Geology	John Schuesselin, Music	
KoFan Lee, Health & Exercise Science	Mary Roseman, Nutrition & Hospitality Management	

Chalet Tan, Pharmaceutics