University of Mississippi Faculty Senate Minutes

September 3, 2013

The first meeting of the University of Mississippi Faculty Senate was called together at 7:02 PM on September 3, 2013.

Senators Attended or Excused: Mitch Wenger (Excused), Charles Ross, Philip Jackson, Patrick Curtis, Cliff Ochs, Adam Smith, Michael Mossing, Hunain Alkhateb, Brad Cook, Carolyn Higdon, Feng Wang, Tom Garrett, Mustafa Matalgah, Andre Liebenberg, Robert Holt, Jasmine Townsend, Oliver Dinius, Noell Wilson, Darren Grem, Vanessa Gregory, William Berry, Donna Davis, Lorri Williamson, Ruth Mirtz, Jennifer Brosek, Milam Aiken, Nathan Jones, Mitchell Avery, Mei Yang, Valentina Iepuri, Micah Everett, James Chambers (Excused), Jos Milton, Laurel Lambert, Seongbong Jo, Daneel Ferreira, Rahul Khanna, Allison Bell, Robert Barnard, Rich Raspet, Greg Love, Marilyn Mendolia, Christian Sellar, Michele Kelly, Minjoo Oh, Joe Sumrall, Debby Chessin, Mark Ortwein, Michael Barnett

Senators Absent: Milorad Novicevic, Cesar Rego, Zia Shariat-Madar

The following departments were without representation as of this date: English, Leadership and Counseling Education.

The Senate was welcomed by Michael Barnett, as current chair of the Senate. Senator Barnett had advised Provost Stocks that it was not necessary to attend the initial meeting since elections only would occur. Provost Stocks reiterated his willingness to attend but understood the first meeting was to develop the Senate Committees and Officers.

Senator Barnett called for approval for May 2013 minutes, which were moved, seconded and passed without comment.

Senator Barnett gave an abbreviated overview of the mission of the Faculty Senate. He also commented that he hoped the Faculty Senate would be proactive this year with ideas and needs of the faculty, instructors and university rather than waiting for Provost Stocks to bring ideas to the Senate.

Senator Barnett introduced the Election of Officers: (terms 1 year).

Following the call for nominations for Chair of the Senate, Michael Barnett was nominated for a second term as Chair (seconded) and it was moved and seconded that the nominations be closed, and that Michael be approved by full consideration of the Senate. **Senator Michael Barnett** was approved as Chair of the Faculty Senate for 2013-2014 term.

The Chair of the Senate called for the office of Vice Chair of the Senate nominations. **Christian Sellar** was nominated and seconded. Nominations were moved and seconded to be closed and Senator Sellar was approved by acclamation.

The Chair of the Senate called for nominations for the office of Secretary of the Senate. **Carolyn Wiles Higdon** was nominated and seconded. Nominations were moved to be closed, seconded. Nominations were closed and Senator Higdon was approved by acclamation.

Chair Barnett called for Old Business. None was noted.

Chair Barnet called for New Business to include the Faculty Senate Representatives to University Committees. The results of discussion, nominations and final approval are listed below.

Strategic Planning Council: Noell Wilson, Donna Davis Energy Management Committee: Seongbong Jo

Director of the National Center for Physical Acoustics: Robert Holt

Director of the National Institute for Undersea Science and Technology: Mitchell Avery

Scholarship Proposal Review Committee: Hunain Alkhateb

Lecture Series Committee: Robert Barnard (Replacing Seongbong Jo)

Chair Barnett then concluded the business of the full Senate and divided into the Faculty Senate Committees to allow election of chairs in each of the committees.

The September 3, 2013 meeting of the full Faculty Senate was concluded at 8:15 pm.

All Senators are thanked for attending to the university business on this date.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Wiles Higdon Secretary, 2013-2014