Faculty Senate Minutes

September 6, 2016

Meeting convened Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at 6:03pm by Michael Barnett, Chair of the Faculty Senate.

Senators in attendance: Rachna Prakash, Patrick Alexander, Kris Belden-Adams, Patrick Curtis, Brice Noonan, Esteban Urena-Benavides, Randy Wadkins, Tossi Ikuta, Feng Wang, Mark Van Boening, Lei Cao, Mary Hayes, Katie McKee, Peter Reed, Andrew O'Reilly, Paul Loprinzi, Zachary Kagan Guthrie, Vivian Ibrahim, Antonia Eliason, Stacey Lantagne, Eric Lambert, Michelle Emanuel, Debra Riley-Huff, Lifeng Yang, Sandra Spiroff, Amy Hsieh, Sara Wellman, Thomas Peattie, Mary Roseman, Chalet Tan, Meagen Rosenthal, Travis King, James Bos, Breese Quinn, Ben Jones, Marilyn Mendolia, Christian Sellar, Javier Boyas, Marcos Mendoza

Senators excused:

Senators absent: Zia Shariat-Madar, Chris Mullen, Aileen Ajootian, Dennis Bunch, Christina Torbert, Sumali Conlon, Tejas Pendya, Minjoo Oh, Rory Ledbetter

Approval of May 10, 2016 Minutes

Minutes of May 10, 2016 meeting were approved by the Faculty Senate as a whole without comment.

Update on Ongoing Searches

Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Community Engagement

The initial applicant pool included 79 applicants. Recently had airport interviews and there will be four candidates invited to campus. There will be open forums with the candidates, which will be announced on UMToday.

Associate Provost

Pool narrowed to four individuals. Interviews will take place over the next month.

<u>Director of Budget</u>

Phone interviews with six candidates, will interview 2 on campus this week.

<u>Ombudsperson</u>

Our first ombudsperson has accepted a new position. The search has commenced and the job is posted on the job website.

Representative Needed for Chancellor's Standing Committee on Accessibility Zachary Guthrie volunteered. Representative Needed for Chancellor's Standing Committee on Traffic and Parking Stacey Lantagne volunteered. Representative Needed for Campus Internationalization Committee Randy Wadkins volunteered. Elections Chair of the Senate Nominated Brice Noonan. Motion passed by acclamation. Vice-Chair of the Senate Nominated Stacey Lantagne. Motion passed by acclamation.

Old Business

Secretary of the Senate

Nothing to report.

New Business

Nothing to report.

Election of Committee Chairs

Academic Instructional Affairs - Michelle Emanuel

Nominated Meagen Rosenthal. Motion passed by acclamation.

Academic Conduct – Vivian Ibrahim

Development & Planning – Peter Reed

Finance & Benefits – Travis King

Governance – Mary Roseman

Research & Creative Achievement – Debra Riley-Huff

University Services – Katie McKee

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned. Next meeting, Tuesday, September 20, 2016 in Bryant Hall.